Blindsided

In case you haven’t noticed, I am fairly sarcastic.

And perhaps you think I am shallow because I love high fashion.

At least I admit it.

In all seriousness, when I saw the movie The Blind Side in 2009, I was truly moved. The story and success of Michael Oher is amazing and I love that the Tuohy family is so gracious, giving and inspirational.

The first time I watched the movie, I’m pretty sure I cried through half of it so I missed the beautiful clothing that Sandra Bullock wore while playing Leigh Anne Tuohy.

However, as I left the movie theater after seeing the film for the second time, my fashion brain was in full gear.

A certain necklace Leigh Anne wore had blindsided me. Pun intended.

Image

Many people call it the “double layered clover necklace,” but it is from the Alhambra collection of Van Cleef and Arpels (think Tiffany, Cartier). The necklace in the movie is 14 karat gold and diamonds, and since the price isn’t even listed on the website, I knew I would be out of luck for my clover necklace for at least fifty years.

But then I began my search … and found a reasonably affordable version on Amazon.com. For 39.99 (currently on sale from $83.99), a faux mother of pearl and faux gold one can be yours. There are other options with faux diamonds but this one is closest to the Alhambra design. In case you’re wondering, the real mother of pearl and gold necklace is listed at $11,200 on the Van Cleef and Arpels website.

Image

Sounds like you’re getting lucky with that clover leaf necklace. Pun intended.

Sources

Amazon.com – Alhambra Necklace
Lulus.com
VanCleefandArpels.com
http://screencrave.com/2009-11-18/interview-sandra-bullock-for-the-blind-side/

Notes

Like the design but not the necklace? Here’s a trendy, cheap version of the Alhambra in a ring:
https://www.lulus.com/products/up-in-charms-gold-rhinestone-ring/75402.html

Photo from the movie – her watch is from Toy Watch, it is not the Chanel J12

I don’t own this necklace (yet), so if you buy it, let me know what you think! Happy Shopping!

Leave a Reply

